Who We Are History

About the Cairngorms Archive Trust

There have been many legendary figures associated with the Cairngorms over the years from Seaton Gordon and Nan Shepherd to Desmond Nethersole-Thompson and Adam Watson

CATS is a charity with a voluntary board of Trustees who want to preserve the rich heritage of the Cairngorms and by giving or becoming involved you can also help preserve this incredible legacy.

Accounts for period end 30 April 2019

Trustee Biographies

Liz Morris (Chair)

Liz Morris obtained a BSc and PhD in Physics from Bristol University and began her research career as a hydrologist, studying sno wmelt in the Cairngorms.  She went on to become Head of the Ice and Climate Division at the British Antarctic Survey, Professor of Ice Physics at the University of Reading and is now a Senior Associate at the Scott Polar Research Institute, Cambridge. She has been President of both the International Glaciological Society and the International Commission on Snow and Ice. She was appointed OBE in 2000 and awarded the Polar Medal in 2003. In 2015 she was awarded an Honorary Doctorate at the University of Bristol and Honorary Membership of the International Association of Cryospheric Sciences. She is now based in Glenshee.

Grant Moir (Treasurer)

Grant Moir joined the Cairngorms National Park Authority as Chief Executive in March 2013.  He is a graduate of Aberdeen University and worked with the Loch Lomond and the Trossachs National Park Authority for seven years where he held the post of Director of Conservation and Visitor Experience.  Prior to that he was in the Rural Affairs Department of the Scottish Executive.  Grant has a keen interest in upland management issues and hails from Perthshire.  He is also a keen mountaineer and is getting ever closer to finishing the munros. Grant lives in Grantown on Spey.

Jo Porter

Ann Wakeling

Hayden Lorimer

Eric Lawther

Gordon Scott

John Rosenfield

Honorary President

Robert Macfarlane

Robert Macfarlane was born in Oxford in 1976 and is a travel writer, nature writer and critic. He studied at Pembroke College, Cambridge and at Magdalen College, Oxford, and is currently a Fellow in English at Emmanuel College, Cambridge.

He is the author of two well-known books about landscape and nature: Mountains of the Mind (2003), which examines the development of our attitudes to mountains and how they fire our imaginations; and The Wild Places (2007), which explores the remaining wild places of Britain and Ireland, and our continuing need for ‘wildness’. Both books have won multiple awards including the 2003 Guardian First Book Award, a 2004 Somerset Maugham Award and the 2004 Sunday Times Young Writer of the Year Award (Mountains of the Mind); and the 2007 Boardman Tasker Prize for Mountain Literature, and the 2008 Scottish Arts Council Non-Fiction Book of the Year Award(The Wild Places).  He is generally grouped with a number of recent British authors who have provoked a new critical and popular interest in writing about landscape and nature.

His most recent book, Landmarks (2015) is ‘a field guide to the literature of nature’, collecting a glossary of terms used in different British dialects to describe terrain.

Robert Macfarlane also writes travel essays, as well as articles on literature and the environment for publications including Granta, Harper’s, The Guardian and The Times Literary Supplement.